Skip to main content

Candidates for City Council

The City Council is the legislative branch of our local government.

The City Council is composed of a mayor and six councilors with two councilors elected from each geographic ward. The councilors serve for a term of four years, and the mayor serves for a term of two years. Council terms are staggered, so one position in each ward is up for election every even-numbered year. The mayor is elected at large every even-numbered year.


Candidates are listed alphabetically by last name.

2-year term

  • Sharon Konopa
  • Charley R Smith

Councilor Ward I-A
4-year term

  • Dick Olsen

Councilor Ward II-A
4-year term

  • C. Jeffery Evans
  • Alex Johnson II

Councilor Ward III-A
4-year term

  • Jessi Brenneman
  • Bessie Johnson

Signs during an election

One temporary sign per issue and per candidate may be placed on property based on the ballot of an election within the district where the property is located. In residential zones, signs are limited to an area of four square feet per face and a maximum height of three feet. In commercial or industrial zones, signs are limited to an area of eight square feet per face and a maximum height of five feet. Signs may be placed 45 days prior to an election and removed no more than seven days after the election.

For questions on Albany's sign code, contact Community Development at 541-917-7550.

Elections Links